Hong Kong Investor Identification Regime

In August 2021, the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) issued consultation conclusions on proposals to introduce an investor identification regime at trading level for the securities market in Hong Kong and an over-the-counter securities transaction reporting regime (OTCR) for shares listed on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong (SEHK). For detailed information, please visit: SFC website

 

HKIDR – FAQ

1. Q: What is “HKIDR”?

A: Hong Kong Investor Identification Regime and Over-the-counter Securities Transaction Reporting Regime, collectively known as the Investor Identification Regime (HKIDR), are a new set of surveillance mechanisms introduced by the SFC at trading level for the securities market of Hong Kong and an over-the-counter securities transaction reporting regime for shares listed on the SEHK.

 

2. Q: How does HKIDR work?

A: Under HKIDR, we will assign a Broker-Client Assigned Number (BCAN) to each of our customer account.  BCAN and clients’ identity document information will be submitted to a secured data repository of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (HKEX). Separately, reporting including the clients’ identity information will also be made to a secured data repository at the SFC. Every stock transaction or order will then be tagged with a BCAN to identify the investors who place the order. 

Separately, information about OTC securities transactions in ordinary shares and real estate investment trusts listed on the SEHK as well as deposits and withdrawals of physical share certificates will be reported to the SFC under OTCR.

 

3. Q: When will HKIDR be implemented?

A: Hong Kong Investor Identification Regime and OTCR will be implemented tentatively in the second half of 2022 and the first half of 2023 respectively, subject to the SFC and the SEHK’s further announcement.

 

4. Q: Why do I need to sign HKIDR consent?

A: To comply with requirements under Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance and the SFC’s requirements, we must obtain your signed consent form before submitting your identity document information to the HKEX and the SFC. If the relevant consents in respect of HKIDR-are not included in the consent agreements you’ve previously signed and provided, a new consent will be required.

 

5. Q: How should I sign HKIDR consent?

A: We accept both online consent and physical consent letter. To reply online, you may log in our web-based platform iTrade or our Xet mobile device APP, General Version APP. A consent-reply window will pop-up once you log in.  If you choose to reply by completing the physical consent letter (click here to download), please send the signed form to your account manager.

 

6. Q: What if I reject or ignore the HKIDR consent?

After the implementation of Hong Kong Investor Identification Regime, clients who has rejected or ignored the HKIDR consent will not be able to buy new shares, and are  only allowed to sell the existing portfolios in Hong Kong securities market.

 

7. Q: I am an existing customer but I have  rejected/ignored the HKIDR consent. When will I be able to buy new shares in Hong Kong securities market after signing the consent?

A: We may need at least one working day to process your reply. Please reserve sufficient time or reply in advance.

 

8. Q: Will trading of US Stocks or other markets be affected?

A: HKIDR is applicable to Hong Kong securities market only. The securities markets other than  the Hong Kong securities market will not be affected.

 

9. Q: Is my personal data well protected?

A: All of your identity document information will be kept in the secured data repositories of HKEX and the SFC. Only authorized HKEX and the SFC personnel could access the data on a need-to-know basis.

 

10. Q: Should corporate clients sign HKIDR consent?

A: Corporate clients are not required to sign the HKIDR consent.

 

11. Q: Do I need to update my personal data for HKIDR?

A The priorities of the types of personal identification documents to be provided under HKIDR are the Hong Kong Identity Card, the national identification document and the passport. If you have obtained a new identification document with a higher priority or if your identification document has been changed or expires, you should promptly update your identity document information with us.

港股實名制

香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會(「證監會」)於2021年8月就有關在交易層面上對香港證券市場實施投資者識別碼制度(香港投資者識別碼制度)的建議,以及為在香港聯合交易所(聯交所)上市的股份引入場外證券交易匯報制度的建議,發表了諮詢總結。若您想瞭解更多資訊,請參閱以下連結:證監會網頁

 

「港股實名制」常見問題

1. 問:「港股實名制」是甚麼?

答:投資者識別碼制度及場外證券交易匯報制度( 統稱「港股實名制」)是由證監會就有關在交易層面上對香港證券市場實施投資者識別碼制度,以及為在聯交所上市的股份引入場外證券交易匯報制度的一項新的監管措施。

 

2. 問:「港股實名制」具體將如何運作?

答:在香港投資者識別碼制度下,本公司會先為每名客戶編配券商客戶編碼(客戶編碼),並將券商客戶編碼連同客戶的身份證明文件資料提交予香港交易所(港交所)的保密資料庫。另外,相關資料包括客户資料亦會匯報至證監會的保密資料庫。往後客戶的證券交易指示將會附加本公司的客戶編碼及/或身份證明文件資料以便識別投資者。

而根據場外證券交易匯報制度,就在聯交所上市的普通股及房地產投資信託基金的相關場外證券交易,以及實體股票證書的存放或提取,本公司均須向證監會匯報相關資料。

 

3. 問:「港股實名制」的實施日期?

答:香港投資者識別碼制度及場外證券交易匯報制度預期最早分別於2022年第四季後期及2023年上半年實施,確實日期有待證監會及聯交所再作公告。

 

4. 問:我為何要簽署回覆「港股實名制」同意書?

答:根據《個人資料(私隱)條例》及證監會的要求,本公司必須要有您簽署的同意書才可以將您的身份證明文件資料交予港交所及證監會。如您開戶時簽署的同意書沒有涵蓋「港股實名制」的條款,您將需就此再作簽署回覆。

 

5. 問:我應如何簽署「港股實名制」同意書?

答:本公司接受客戶以網上或簽署實體同意書的方式作回覆。支援網上簽署同意書的平台包括網頁平台iTrade、信e投國際APP及一般版本APP。客戶登入後或進入交易頁前同意書將會以彈出視窗顯示。而選擇簽署實體同意書(表格按此下載)的客戶則請將填妥的表格交予您的客戶經理跟進處理。

 

6. 問:如我不同意或沒有回覆,我會受到甚麼影響?

答:當投資者識別碼制度實施後,如您仍未回覆同意書或回覆不同意,就交易而言,您將只可以沽出原來持有的港股,而不可以買入港股。

 

7. 問:我是現有客戶但我早前回覆了不同意或沒有回覆「港股實名制」同意書。我重新提交同意後多久才能再買入港股呢?

答:本公司或需不少於一個工作日處理您的回覆。請預留足夠的處理時間或提早回覆。

 

8. 問:美股或其他地區/國家市場的交易會受到影響嗎?

答:「港股實名制」只適用於香港證券市場,香港以外的證券市場不受影響。

 

9. 問:我的個人資料會受到甚麼保障?

答:所有身分證明文件資料都會儲存於港交所及證監會的保密資料庫,只有港交 所及證監會獲授權人員才可以在有需要時查取資料。

 

10. 問:我開立的是公司賬戶,我需要簽署同意書嗎?

答:公司客戶不需要簽署同意書。

 

11. 問:我需要就此更新我的個人資料嗎?

答:「港股實名制」就個人客戶的身份證明文件類別的優先順序要求為香港身份證、國民身份證明文件及護照。所以當您新持有優先順序較前的身份證明文件或您的身份證明文件有任何更改或已過期時,您將需要主動提交或更新您的個人資料。